Our Own Wedding: Still Torn

18 06 2008

Well, I am still really confused about what we are going to do.  We decided to have an intimate wedding where we live, and even made our guests lists, totaling 48.  Then, however, we decided that we want to get married THIS YEAR.  yes, this year that is halfway over.  We are in no financial position to have a wedding on that scale on such short notice.  Now begins Project Scale-Down.

Eloping seems like the obvious choice here.  Very little expense, easily done on very short notice.  Something inside me is nagging to have someone present, though.  To keep things small, and to keep me relaxed, it needs to be very few people.  At this moment, I am really feeling pulled toward eloping.  Tomorrow, I may wake up and be ready to pare down the guest list to the bare minimum.  It’s just such a stressful task for me.  It was hard enough to get to 50.

We really want to get married in October, so I better figure things out quickly!

Actions

Information

9 responses

18 06 2008
Mindy

I’m sure that is a stressful decision. Just make a list of the pros and cons of ech and try to go from there. Good Luck!

18 06 2008
Michelle

Why the sudden “it must be this year”? I think the reality might be that you love the intimate wedding that you are planning and might really regret simply eloping just because of a sense of urgency. There are ways to have it still be your intimate wedding for less.

18 06 2008
Rhonda Gail

It’s not that it must be this year, but we’ve just talked a lot about it, and decided that’s what’s best for our family. We aren’t your typical bride and groom – we have children, a big reason we are ready to be married. We have plans for Dustin to adopt my son, and are eager to get that ball rolling.

If we eloped, it would certainly not just be because of a sense of urgency. Wedding planning has, more than once, nearly driven me to tears. It really stresses me out to cut this person out of the guest list, consider that person’s financial situation with traveling costs, add up arbitrary numbers to figure out what we can afford. I’d so much rather keep the focus on what the wedding is all about.

Eloping is not for everyone. I know that much. I also know that I won’t be any less married if I elope than if I had a 200-guest wedding with a string quartet and 5-tier cake.

18 06 2008
nathaliewithanh

I say ELOPE!!! Wedding and honeymoon all in one. With what you would have spent on a traditional ceremony, you can have a WAY kick-ass romantic time on a beautiful beach sans having to worry about the color of the napkins… nor worry about pleasing a mom or step-mom… etc.

19 06 2008
Vivian

I agree – escape off to an exotic location and forego the cookie cutter, big production spectacle. We did and have never regretted our decision for a minute!

19 06 2008
Indie

I’m a huge fan of your site (I check in quite often), and thank you for the photog blog (I’m now obsessed, lol). Next, I think you should elope, it would be so cool and fun and it sounds to me like that’s what you want to do. (I’m a Vegas bride and although we didn’t do a Vegas elope-type thing, I sometimes wish we had. :)) And, finally, your Ring Post III has a picture of the Converse tennis shoes with the rings…. That was from my wedding (those are our rings!)! I’m so excited you thought that pic was cool, too! You obviously have amazing taste. Yes, our photogs, Studio ATG, rock! GL in making your decision about “wedding” vs. “elope”.

21 06 2008
Ashley

hehe

21 06 2008
Ashley

ignore the previous comment…..and go check your myspace comments

24 06 2008
budgetsavvybride

Eloping has definitely crossed my mind from time to time- my parents got married in Vegas so I think it’d be kinda cool. 🙂

And today is the first time I’ve come across your blog, but after reading only a few entries I think it’s safe to say that you and I might share a brain…

Leave a Reply

