Wedding Colors: Black, White, and Green

23 08 2007

I love to color-coordinate things, and weddings are no exception! I’ve been known to see a bedroom set and say, “That would be great as a wedding!” When my boyfriend and I first discussed marriage and what kind of wedding we’d like, I fell in love with 3 different color schemes. I will share them all at some point or another.

Today, I share with you my favorite one… Black and white with shades of green. Not just any black and white, but crisp and modern floral and damask prints. What follows is an “inspiration board” for these colors. Inspiration boards are popping up all over popular wedding forums as a way to put together a visual of the colors and motifs in which the wedding will be styled.

Left to right, and top to bottom:

  • Black bridesmaids dress with green bouquet and bride with white bouquet. Source unknown.
  • Black linens with crisp white cake, adorned with wheat grass. Also from Knottie PDXDFWbride.
  • Black and white modern damask print. Google the term “black white Waverly damask” for home decor and many other cool items in similar prints.
  • Table cards with crisp green stripes sit atop wheat grass. Courtesy of Britney Photography‘s blog.
  • Green tie and boutonniere, source unknown.

Some fun extras/substitutes:

  • I adore this cake, minus the lavender layer. Red Photo Co.

  • These invitations are just as great as the ones in the inspiration board. Wedding Paper Divas.

  • And why not dye your crinoline green (instructions and other info HERE; pictured on Knottie violeta77) or opt for a green sash on your gown (pictured is that of Knottie bancbev)?

If you would like to see more of these colors, I have so many pictures, and I know just where to look. You may email me at rhondagaileubanks@gmail.com

Edit: I have compiled a (growing) collection of black, white, and green photos here.

If you see something I have not credited properly, please let me know and I’ll amend it immediately.

Personally…

I fell in love with the black and white damask print because it is at once baroque and modern. I love the drama of the stark contrast, and the fact that it meshes so well with simple, fresh colors and clean lines.

Since I am not using the fantastic damask print that I love so much for a wedding, I hope to find pieces for our home.

I really love these dishes and bedding from Target.

I hope that you have somehow been inspired! If you have anything you want to share, or think you have something to contribute for future blog posts, I’d love your input!

rhondagaileubanks@gmail.com

Actions

Information

14 responses

23 08 2007
Nicole

P.I.M.P. love it!

23 08 2007
Dustin

I kinda want that bedding.

23 08 2007
Rhonda Gail

Well, Dustin, that’s good… cause we’re kinda gonna have it, if it’s still in stores when I move.

23 08 2007
Dustin

Eeeexcellent.

24 08 2007
AprilRain

This is great!! I love the “inspiration board” as a way to showcase the different ideas, and you’ve found several beautiful black and white pieces.

30 08 2007
Buddhika Perera

I alway love black and white

24 02 2008
More black, white, and green « Life. Love. Lipstick.

[…] black, white, and green 24 02 2008 I get emails quite frequently, referencing my other post about black, white and green weddings.  Everyone wants more photos.  That post is by far my most popular to […]

11 04 2008
christina

Any great places to shop for all things black and white damask??? I am an obsessed bride…LOL Love your site! My FI hates green…wah!

9 06 2008
floraladdiction

gosh, that is so pretty.i love damask.

10 06 2008
dami

I am sooo in love with the black and white combo.
I would love to mix that with sage

love love love your selections

9 07 2008
Leslie

I am thinking about doing a white black and green wedding as well using clover green from davids bridal but im debating because i dont want a white or green boquet i want something that will pop a little more in pictures but not look outof place any ideas and more pics would be great???

19 08 2008
Our Own Wedding: Bridesmaids in White « Life. Love. Lipstick.

[…]  For over a year now, I’ve loved black, white, and green as a color scheme.  Then I made a post about those colors.  That post is by far the most-viewed on this blog, and that color palette is popping up all over […]

22 10 2008
daft for damask « tea-length tulle

[…] Love. Lipstick. has a collection of pictures, links, and resources for the green + damask […]

21 06 2013
transportation

Wonderful blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little
lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform
like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there
that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

